Two weeks ago I discovered Google Web History was turned on for my account. 19,000+ searches were logged and searchable by date. I never turned that on. Friends told me that it was turned on by default. How did I miss this? Why did this happen? I am a nerd. I pay attention!
I deleted my Google Web History and disabled the "feature."
I deleted my Google Plus account and Google profile.
I am no longer logged in while I use Google search.
The only reason I was logged in at all was Gmail. I no longer use Gmail in the browser. I use a desktop client for mail instead. Eventually I will migrate off of the service.
I have blocked Google cookies.
I don't want search to be social. I don't want any aspect of my Google use to be logged or shared. There is no value; there is only risk.